2021-2022 Award Winners and Honorees

NEO-RLS thanks all of our 2021-2022 Honorees for their contributions to the libraries of Northeast Ohio and congratulates the 2022 winners of the Rising Star Award, Shooting Star Award and Advocacy Award.

The NEO-RLS Rising Star Award

We are pleased to recognize the winner of the
2022 NEO-RLS Rising Star Award, Sarah Miller,
Cataloging and Processing Assistant, Rocky River Public Library.

Sarah Miller has been with Rocky River Public Library since July 2017. In that time, Sarah has established ongoing book donations in collaboration with the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections, she has partnered with Aunt Flow to bring free organic menstrual products to library staff (which she hopes to expand to the public), and has offered book repair workshops to the public.

Congratulations Sarah Miller, 2022 recipient of the Rising Star Award!


The NEO-RLS Shooting Star Award
We are pleased to recognize the winner of the
2022 NEO-RLS Shooting Star Award, Julia Shaheen,
Manager, Literacy Services, Stark Library.
Julia Shaheen has held various positions since joining Stark Library in 2011. Julia's local leadership of various early literacy initiatives, like Trail Tales and Summer Fun School, have made a positive impact on children and their caregivers across Stark County. Julia is a Reimagining School Readiness Trainer and a member of the Ohio Ready to Read Task Force. She has continued to grow and develop through such programs as Groundwork Ohio and active involvement in Ohio Library Council committees.

Congratulations Julia Shaheen, 2022 recipient of the Shooting Star Award!

The NEO-RLS Advocacy Award

We are pleased to recognize the winner of the
2022 NEO-RLS Advocacy Award, Dr. MaryAnn Harris
Trustee, East Cleveland Public Library.


Dr. Harris is an active member of the Friends of the East Cleveland Public Library. When attending community meetings, events, or activities she distributes flyers about library programs and services. She is an active member of NEO-RLS's Constitution and By-Laws Committee, as well as a passionate member of NEO-RLS's Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee. Dr. Harris is a policy maker specializing in collaboration of school, community, and library connections.

Congratulations Dr. MaryAnn Harris, 2022 recipient of the Advocacy Award!

We are pleased to recognize the winner of the
2022 NEO-RLS Advocacy Award, Sharon Fruchey,
President, Friends of the Rocky River public Library.


In her time as President, Sharon Fruchey launched a lucrative annual membership drive and initiated a Corporate Sponsorship Program, both raising thousands of dollars for Library programming. The Friends of the RRPL presented the Library with their largest donation in their 50-year history under Ms. Fruchey's leadership. Perhaps most important of all, Ms. Fruchey has always been a positive voice for the library and goes out of her way to make sure that all Friends supporters understand how appreciated they are and how vital their contributions are to the meaningful community programs they support.

Congratulations Sharon Fruchey, 2022 recipient of the Advocacy Award!